Date of Graduation


Document Type


Degree Type



College of Creative Arts


School of Music

Committee Chair

Francesca Arnone.


Alexander Glazunov's Concerto in E-flat Major for Alto Saxophone and String Orchestra of 1934, written for virtuoso saxophonist Sigurd M. Rascher, is one of the most significant works within the saxophone literature. This document provides historical details of Glazunov's work, including a discussion of the cirumstances leading to its composition, while comparing the editions currently available to define a clearer understanding of the work and the composer's intentions.;First published in 1936 by Alphonse Leduc, this French edition has been the sole version available. However, in late 2010, with the aid of Sigurd Rascher's daughter Carina, the German company Barenreiter published a scholarly edition of the work. This paper features a comparative analysis of the two editions supported by numerous musical examples. In the time between the initial composition of the concerto and its publication, Glazunov made several revisions to the work which were not included in its first publication. This paper examines the discrepancies between the autographed manuscript and the published editions as well as the correspondence between Glazunov and Rascher in which Glazunov discusses his edits. Citing the Concerto 's pedagogical and performance resources, this paper also considers a Music Minus One edition intended for practice as well as an alternate cadenza composed by Christian Lauba.;This paper contains concise accounts of the composition and publication history of the Concerto by drawing upon the significant scholarly research relating to it. The author concludes that by considering the different editions of the work as well as other performance resources related to the work saxophonists will present new interpretations of the Concerto . This research will assist in reinvigorating this well-established work while providing a single, comprehensive source.